What to do with all Those Kale Ribs?

It was a bit time consuming to cut them all out, but I did it.  Being my mother’s daughter, though, I do hate to waste them.  Any ideas?  Otherwise I’ll chop them up and compost them!  I have enough soup stock already!  Next time, I think I’ll time my kale purchase with the need to make soup stock.

I did my research this morning at various websites, including Canadian Living, All Recipes, Kath Eats and finally Straight .  There are more and you could spend a day checking them all out, but here it is in a nutshell – or rather a bowl full:

I made three batches of chips, each with their own flavouring:

  • Salish Smoked salt from Just a Pinch which I buy at the Co-op deli.  (Love this salt a lot!)
  • Club House Salmon spice mix
  • home-made Italian seasoning

I’ve listed them in the order that I like them.  But the beauty of this is that you can make them what ever flavour you like or have available!

So here’s the simple formula for making kale chips:

1 bunch of kale.  Cut out the center rib and then cut the leafy part into 6 to 8 pieces (they will shrink!)

2 tsp.  oil.  You can use olive or canola.  Maybe sesame.  I found 2 tsp. to be enough.

Flavouring:  Whatever flavouring you choose, don’t go overboard. I know that there’s a lot of kale in that bowl – but there isn’t a lot of chip left in the pan when you’re done!

Toss the kale with the oil and flavouring.  Place in two 9 x 13 pans. I found that this made for more even baking.

Bake in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 12 – 15 minutes, flipping the chips in the middle.

BUT… don’t go crazy eating these things.  I put this recipe in “MyFitnessPal” and if you eat the whole batch – 305 calories!  I’ll divide them into thirds in a bit and have a veggie snack ready to go!

Enjoy experimenting with these!  You can have something different every time!

Marcia

PS:  On the green side of things, I got the kale on sale for 99 cents a bunch!  I think I will try to grow some this year!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes, RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

3 responses to “What to do with all Those Kale Ribs?

  1. sunnyjane

    Why not freeze them for soup stock later?

    • Marcia Stehouwer

      I would, but my freezer is kind of full right now. I’m storing two batches of kale chips in there and all the other stuff. Maybe after I’m done chopping it all I will find a spot for it!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Weigh in: | One Year, One Week, One Pound

Leave a comment