“I made a JING!”

Jing (software)

Jing (software) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This was my Facebook status last night, and judging by the comments – I have some “explaining” to do.  Ruth, this is your explanation.

Through the ELL Corridor I am taking a course on Digital Literacy in the ESL classroom.  It is very exciting to learn about different programs available on the web – and JING is one of them!  It’s the only one I could get to work on my Windows 8 laptop.  Here’s the link: http://www.techsmith.com/jing.html

And if you are really interested, here’s a link to that very first JING: http://screencast.com/t/oh0tr3BEj0Q

I’ve only begun to explore this, but I made another one, off the cuff, this morning and I can see some potential for my ESL classes.

  • It’s pretty easy to use.
  • It comes with an instructional video that can be watched at home and as a class.
  • Students can do these on their own time, using pictures or screenshots that interest them.
  • It’s ideal for planned or “off the cuff” presentations.
  • By watching JINGS made over time, you can track your improvement.

I’m pretty sure that I can’t download this program to the computers at my school.  But, as long as I bring home the right power cord at night, we can enjoy making JINGS on my computer.  I’m looking forward to trying it!

As I said before, I’m not very comfortable with all the technology that surrounds me, inspite of the laptop, desk top, Smart phone and Blackberry playbook that I have.  I know I don’t use them to their fullest capacity.  But I think that I can learn to use this well over time.  Stay tuned for more JING links as they come available!

Ruth, I hope that gives a little more explanation!

Marcia

Please note:  I haven’t read the articles below, but I’m going to.  I do have to go to the gym and start my tanning program (Long awaited cruise is now only 30 days away!)  I’m looking forward to learning more!

Leave a comment

Filed under YELLOW: Moving into my Life's Calling

Leave a Reply

