The Ripple Effect.

Tonight I had plans.  They were fairly fluid – as plans made to include a young mom and baby need to be.  Babies, even one as delightful as Sharae is, have their bad days – days when they just need to be home.

Today I shared in laughter with my friends.  I did my work-out at the gym, prepared food, enjoyed a milk and oatmeal bath (very soothing for my skin which is suffering from the change in weather).  I went about my day as if nothing was wrong and everything was right in my world.

And then, I got a phone call.  My daughter was in tears, weeping because of the loss suffered by people she doesn’t know and may never know.  She couldn’t drive.  She didn’t want to drive.  She just needed to be  home.

I’ve been reading the  comments of my friends on Facebook.  Some question their own choices in video entertainment.  I’m not into that so much, but I know people that are.  Some notice that most of those that break out like this are men, and that perhaps women should have control of the guns.

 

Travers in his most memorable role, as Clarenc...

Travers in his most memorable role, as Clarence Odbody in It’s a Wonderful Life (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

And then, I watched “It’s a Wonderful Life”  and the Andy Griffith show (The one where Otis, the town drunk, gets to be a deputy – Second season if you’re interestd, and they have them at the Calgary Public Library).

This is one of many awful things that have happened in our world.  It’s not the first time that people have been killed in this way.  It probably won’t be the last.  Bethlehem comes to mind as I write this, and Rachel weeping for her children.

The fact that we, thousands of miles away from this tragedy, can weep, mourn and pray for these families, speaks to me of HOPE.  My friend Jean shared this prayer on Facebook today, and I’d like to share it here.  Two of my friends have lost parents in the last little while.  Others have lost family members.  That we can grieve along side them is part of the grace of our humanity.

Prayer for Those Who Suffer:

For those who suffer,
and those who cry this night,
give them repose, Lord;

a pause in their burdens.
Let there be minutes
where they experience peace,
not of man
but of angels.
Love them, Lord,
when others cannot.
Hold them, Lord,
when we fail with human arms.
Hear their prayers
and give them the ability to hear You back
in whatever language they best understand.

~Margaret A. Davidson

It’s been hard for me to process the reality that life goes on, even in the midst of sadness and loss.  I guess I just needed to write some of it out.  In the end I am grateful that we are not so hardened that we shrug it off and go on with our days.
It is still a “Wonderful Life” because we can still do those small things that make a difference in our world.  Thank you God for this great mercy.
M
Leave a comment

Filed under WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

Leave a Reply

