Lessons from Babette –

Crochet blanket

Crochet blanket (Photo credit: ejhogbin)

The Blanket, not the movie, although I am going to put that on hold at the library!  Alas it is not available, but apparently can be watched via You-tube.  I may try that later.

This is the original Babette blanket pattern.  I bought it a number of years ago from Interweave press.  If this picture inspires you to buy it too, click here.  I have yet to complete a full size blanket, but I have made two smaller sizes for baby gifts.  It never ceases to amaze me how many beautiful blankets come from one pattern.

   This is one of the first ones I made, and it successfully used up most of the baby yarn I had.  With an edging of white to finish it, the result was quite nice.  One is waiting here at home for my ray of sunshine to be born.  The other was donated to Neighbourlink’s “No Crib for a Bed” event.

I have another one that is made of all the Astra yarn I had collected for a project that never quite worked out.  So I started crocheting squares.  The difference this time was that I didn’t sew them together as I went along.  Needless to say, this project is still hibernating as I type this.  It  has progressed beyond what this picture shows, but has not been enjoyed as a blanket as yet.

Now I’m going to share some pictures that I’ve found via Ravelry and Google images.  There is also a Flickr group dedicated to this blanket, so the number of images available are eye-boggling!

The first are by a designer from Malaysia, and you can follow her blog here

              While there isn’t a recent blog post on the blanket, you can see how this one got put together.  I’ve been struggling with one that I want to make for my dad, and doing some colouring may be helpful!

            

All of these images were gleaned from a google search of babette blanket images.

As you can and will see, all of them are different.  Some people go and buy specific yarn for their blankets.  Others use what they have on hand.  I have done both.

But here are the lessons I’ve learned from this wonderful pattern:

1.  Sew in the ends as you go!  Put it together as you go!  Don’t leave the ugly jobs to the end of the day, the week or the project.

2.  Working with what you have creates a whole different reality.

3.  Adding things into your life (like more colours of yarn) adds a whole different dimension.

4.  Taking things out of your life (like the Babette with only three colours) adds a different dimension yet again!

5.  Each day I live is a new opportunity to make a different blanket.

There are probably more lessons to be learned but this I know right now.  God has blessed me with a wonderful, sunshiny day and I am going to enjoy the many colours that are around me today!

Have a good one!

Marcia

 

3 Comments

Filed under BLUE: did I do that?, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Lessons from Babette –

  1. Marcia Stehouwer

    If the pictures of the Babette blanket inspired you to do something with your bits of yarn, here’s another link that may prove helpful. http://gingerschatz.blogspot.co.uk/2011/09/tutorial-crazy-patchwork-klimt-blankets.html
    Have fun!

  2. Somewhere in my stash is the magazine issue from IP Crochet that Babette was featured in. Waiting for me to tackle. I picked it up because immediately my brain saw the opportunity to create a blanket that matched my favorite artist – Klimt. So I have a question.. because Ive not read the pattern (i know shame lol) are the ends woven in with a traditional blanket or whip stitch ? I am practicing doing this now as I complete squares in a blanket because yes doing it at the end is awful 🙂

    • Marcia Stehouwer

      I leave longer ends and use them to sew up the blanket as I go. Weave them in as you feel comfortable doing. That’s what I’ve done all these years. If I’m doing a multi coloured square I lay the end across the top of the row and crochet over it. That way the end is tucked away while I’m crocheting. It works for me!

Leave a Reply

