On Becoming “OMA”

I’m not sure if this is my first post on becoming a grandmother, but I will, God willing, be holding my first grandbaby in about 15 weeks.  And let me tell you….I am excited!

But yesterday was a bit of a stressful day for us – my daughter wasn’t feeling well. The baby wasn’t moving – which of course is a bit scary, especially when there’s been a lot of movement in the past!

So today I would just like to share a list of the things that I’m grateful for – things that I experienced yesterday.

  • Everything is okay with mother and child – a flu bug, and a different baby position!
  • The prayers of my friends, family and Facebook community.
  • The medical care we receive here in Calgary, Alberta and Canada.  Sometimes it may take a while, but we have it pretty darn good.
  • The comfort God provides when you think it’s all going crazy.

As I was driving, I waffled between the tragedy that could be unfolding and the reality that God holds the world in His hands, and that includes the life of my wee, wee grandchild.

I am also reminded that being a parent and a grandparent is not just fun and games.  There is also a great deal of faith-stretching that happens.

Image

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized, WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

Leave a Reply

