Choosing to “Obey”

I borrowed this from  a blog called Salt.  It’s interesting to do an image search for the word “Obey”  because you  can see people’s perspective on this.  It gets better when you add “obedience” to the mix, and that’s how I found this picture and the blog.

It’s Monday, and I used to write about my weight and how much I had gained or lost.  Today I’m not going to do that.  Why?  Because I don’t know. I didn’t get on the scale.  I chose not to know.

I’ve been struggling with reading my Bible.  Not because I don’t have one – I have at least five or six of them.  The problem is they’re not “easy” to read.  Some are just too heavy.  Some have small print.  They are physically challenging and I don’t read them.  Then comes the dilemma of what to read, when to read and …..

Yesterday I had a bit of an epiphany.  Maybe I don’t need to read.  Maybe I just need to meditate.  I found a little book  while I was cleaning up.  It’s called “Daily Light for the Daily Path” and here’s another picture of someone else’s book, again borrowed fromm  a blog: Recycled Missionaries . His copy must be older than mine, because my dates aren’t in Roman Numerals!

Here’s what got me going yesterday (I had my dates wrong, so I get to read this twice!).

“Know ye not, that to whom ye yield yourselves servants to obey, his servants ye are to whom ye obey?”  Math. 25:14, 15.

This hit me right between the eyes, as I contemplate my struggles to lose weight.  There are a lot of people who care about my success.  My friends – who encourage me greatly.  My TOPS group – also friends who remind me of how far I’ve already come.  My health team – Lori and Elaine Hu, my dietician.

Lori tells me that I shouldn’t be eating after 8 pm.  The reason is kind of complicated but it has to do with insulin resistance.  Do you think I can obey her?  Do you think I do?  No.  I want to eat at night.   I’m tired, grumpy and sad to say, I give in.

Elaine has created a whole eating plan designed to help me move forward on this.  The plan says to eat my starches only at meal times.  Do I do this?  For the longest time, NO!

So who am I obeying?    I am allowing my emotions, my feelings, my tastebuds, to run the show here.

Obedience is a choice.  God allows me that choice.  I need to accept the consequences of the choices I make each day.  Some days I choose to obey my emotions.  Today I’d like to choose to obey God, and the people He has placed in my life to help me lose this weight.

(Of course there’s more to this than just losing weight – but I need to get ready for work, so hopefully I will have more time to explore later)

Have a delightful day!

Marcia

5 Comments

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas, WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

5 responses to “Choosing to “Obey”

  1. restoring-me

    What a wonderful entry Marcia! Honest, straightforward, and real! Good for you! Obedience is a choice and we can choose to obey those things we know which are for our benefit or we can choose to be lax. I encourage you today to push forward and keep running this race. God bless you, Marcia!
    Diane

  2. restoring-me

    Thank you, Marcia, for your honesty, for being straightforward, and real! It takes a good look at oneself to see what’s actually going on. I encourage you today to press in and press on to run a good race with this. Choose what will be the best benefit for you and for your health, both physically and spiritually.
    Blessings,
    Diane

    • Marcia Stehouwer

      Thanks Diane! I’m glad I am not alone on this journey! It would be so very hard without fellow travelers and encouragers!

  3. Agnes

    I can relate completely. By the way, there are Bible apps for that 🙂

  4. Pingback: 1 John 2:3- Why Should I Obey God? | the lovely cup

Leave a Reply

