Spelt Bran Muffins!

I just made up a batch of these and I thought I’d share the recipe here.

You can find the original on the boxes of Quaker Wheat Bran.  Here’s a picture that I got from the Pepsico website.  They seem to have their fingers in everything!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyways, I’ve been using this recipe since I first learned how to make a muffin – I think it may have been eighth grade – so at least 40 years.  Now that I can get spelt bran in Calgary, I can make these again!  Here;s the recipe I used today.  It makes 12 muffins.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease muffin tins.

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (or oil)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 eggs, unbeaten
  • 1 cup water or milk
  • 1 and 1/2 cups bran (spelt or wheat)
  • 1/2 cup raisin, optional – or try chopped apricots instead!

Mix all these ingredients together and let sit for a while.  In a smaller bowl mix:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt

Add the dry ingredients to the bran mixture and stir until combined.  Spoon batter into greased muffin tins and bake until don, about 18 – 20 minutes.

Enjoy them!

I have to say, this is the first time I’ve made them without oil.  It’s good, so  I think I’ll skip the oil regularly.

 

Have a good evening.

PS:  I’m still plateauing at 228 pounds.  This is not a happy place for me, but I am preservering.

Now it’s bed time!

Marcia

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Spelt Bran Muffins!

  1. Pingback: Tuesday – and I made it to the gym! | One Year, One Week, One Pound

  2. Pingback: Grandma’s Quick-Grain Muffins « G.I. Crockpot

Leave a Reply

