A Bowl of Soup with A Friend!

The last 24 hours have been pretty busy – a political gathering yesterday after work, making soup, watching Columbo DVD’s, sleeping, gymming, volunteering and then….

visiting with my friend!

I can’t think of a better way to spend my day off.  (And I resolved the computer issues with my course, so I can keep plugging along with that!)

I thought I would share my latest soup making experiment.  I was going to take pictures and write notes, but I got into the process and it just took off.

Broccoli Squash Soup – with a hint of Chipotle

I started with a small pumpkin that was going soft on me.  So I pared it, chopped it and threw the cubes in a bowl.  For fun I added:

  • a large onion, chopped
  • a butternut squash that met the same fate as the pumpkin, even though it wasn’t going soft
  • about 5 cloves of fresh garlic that’s grown right here in Calgary!
  • a splash of canola oil and some salt.

These got tossed about abit, coated with the oil and then I put them on a baking tray and roasted them for about 40 minutes.  (I need a deeper pan for this!)

While the veggies were roasting I chopped up the broccoli (1 bunch), even the ends and about 4 carrots. These were put directly in the crockpot together with vegetable stock cubes.

Once the other veggies were roasted I added them to my crockpot (It’s around 10 pm. now) and put the whole thing in the fridge overnight.

This morning I boiled a kettle full of water and added it to the crockpot, put the pot into the heating part and TURNED IT ON! (This step is vital to the procedure!) Then I went to the gym, volunteered, picked up some odds and ends, and came home.   I realized that I had forgotten the chipotle pepper! This was quickly added! I’m not a big fan of heat, but I enjoy my soup when I’ve added one pepper to the melange!  (I have stored them in my Tupperware in the freezer and take out one at a time)  I turned the pot onto low and let it simmer while I managed to resolve my computer issue and get ready for my friend to come.

We enjoyed our lunch, went for a walk to the library and Planet Organic and came home to knit and drink tea!  The soup did need some extra salt but that was all.  Love the effects of that chipotle!

Now it’s time to hunker down and do some homework! Have a good day!  For more of the “day to day” stuff, visit: One Year, One Week, One Pound!

Marcia

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes, RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

One response to “A Bowl of Soup with A Friend!

  1. Pingback: Monday, Monday! | One Year, One Week, One Pound

Leave a Reply

