Making Soup!

A Wild Contatenation of Recipes

Today was cooking day at my house.  I was planning to make a “Fat burning” soup from a Don Colbert book, Get Healthy throu Detox and Fasting.  I’ve never done it, but the recipes at the back are nice.  It did help me make my grocery list!

What I ended up with was totally different – using another recipe I gleaned from Woman’s World and whatever was still in my fridge.

I started off okay, sauting the onion, garlic and celery in a tablespoon of canola oil.  When I got the carrots out of the fridge I noticed the parsnip.  That got chopped into the pot.  Then I added the organic vegetable broth that’s on sale at Calgary Co-op this week.  That was another Colbert touch.  But that was the last one!

I had decided to add some adzuki beans even before I started cooking – they were soaking while I was at the gym.  After a conversation about protein, I decided to add some quinoa to the mix as well.  This involved a good amount of rinsing, but there is no soapy taste to my soup.  The final addition was about 6 cups of tomato juice and a can of diced tomatoes. I forgot to mention the chopped bunch of parsley (no left overs) and fresh spinach that also topped off the mix!

All I can say, is that I won’t mind eating this for lunch for the next week or so.

I  hope this encourages you to play with your recipes, combining them to make new adventures for your tastebuds, and new nutrients for your body!

Thanks for popping by.  If you’ve got a good soup recipe, send me an email at:

5colourparachute at gmail dot com

I’m always looking for new inspiration!

Marcia!

 

1 Comment

Filed under BLUE: did I do that?, RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

One response to “Making Soup!

  1. Pingback: Phase Two: Studying and Moving Forward. | One Year, One Week, One Pound

Leave a Reply

