Christmas Shopping!

When I googled “Christmas shopping Canada”  I got this picture, which was close to what I was looking for.  I thought maybe it was taken at the Eaton Center in Toronto or somewhere.  Then I looked at the bags and thought, “Is there a Macy’s in Canada?”  Well, there isn’t so this is obviously not in Canada.   But it could have been Chinook Mall on Monday night when I stepped in to buy my running shoes and one last gift for the two E’s on my list.  Definitely not my idea of a good time!

My shopping experience was a little more like this, although with a few more people, more cars and snow – and it was in Calgary, not Washington!

Next time I will remember to take my camera with me!  It sure would help my blogging efforts if I could use my own pictures!  However, if I ever go to New Jersey, I’ll have to stop in and walk around.  I wonder if they have a yarn shop?  By the way, if you click on the picture it will take you to their website!

If you’ve been following my blog you know that I much prefer to shop in smaller shops – giving my business to local people who are following their dreams.  Here’s why I believe it’s a good idea:

  • Less choice.  Making decisions is stressful and if there is less to choose from and it’s good stuff, I can make a quicker decision!
  • Less time spent looking – well – bookstores can keep me entertained for hours.  But I’m not wandering through crowded malls trying to find the one store I need to find.
  • More interesting stuff! Some of the gifts I was able to find were unique and I probably wouldn’t have found them at the Mall.  Thankfully I didn’t have to look either!
  • One stop shopping:  Going to a shopping area (Think 17th Ave., Kensington, Brittania Mall, Eau Claire, etc., in Calgary – there are more but these are my favourites) and enjoy the fresh air, the interesting shops and get practically everything on your list (Well except one maybe).
  • Supporting the 99% – I had to put that in somewhere, thanks to a shop in Woodstock, Ontario.

I’m not going to talk about how much or how little I spent.  I will say that it’s all paid for (no debt) and I’m happy with every thing that I found.

If you haven’t finished your shopping – try this strategy. You will probably find it less stressful at the last minute.  If you’re done – keep it in mind for the next time you need to send a gift!

I’m expecting my neices shortly, so I better get ready!

Have a joyful day!

The Cinnamon Bear, episode #24: “The Parade”

Leave a comment

Filed under GREEN: Money matters that matter.

Leave a Reply

