A Thing of Beauty

This morning, before I even played Lexulous with my mom on Facebook I chanced on this article about Joshua Bell playing for an hour in a subway station.  The comment at the end of it made me think.  Enough so that I posted it as my status!

If we do not have a moment to stop and listen to one of the best musicians in the world, playing some of the finest music ever written, with one of the most beautiful instruments ever made…
How many other things are we missing as we rush through life?”

I’m getting ready to go Christmas shopping.  My day started at 4:30 this morning with a threatening migraine. While two extra strength Advil took care of that, I’ve been in a bit of a funk all morning – even my work-out was lacklustre.  All I did was move machines!

I’ve made my list and checked it twice.  Probably still forgotten something.  I’ve packed the clothing that needs to be dropped off at the bottom end of the C-train line (Thanks Zellers for allowing those donation boxes to be there!)  After I’ve brought my groceries home I’ll head out to Brittania Shopping Center to support my local businesses.  And finally I’ll head to the far north for a visit with my delightful daughter!  It will be a busy day but I’m looking forward to getting it started!

Anyways, what the Joshua Bell story reminded me of today is this:

(Clicking the Picture will get you  to the website of Heidi Malott who painted it.  Sadly it has been sold, but I’m glad that someone is enjoying this beautiful picture.  I hope you enjoy it too!)

So, in all the busyness and business of this final week of Advent, take time to enjoy the beauty that God gives us each day – a bit of music, the laughter of a child, a smile, a bird…)

Have a wonderful, beautiful day!

Marcia

The Cinnamon Bear, episode #20: “Flying Hat”
[Originally broadcast 18 December 1937 — 2.79mb, 12:10]
The Grand Wonky arrives in the nick of time to banish the Wintergreen Witch to Looking Glass Valley. While searching for the Singing Tree, they find the Flying Hat and it has a mysterious note attached.

(Still struggling at 225 this week)

Leave a comment

Filed under WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

Leave a Reply

