Softly and tenderly…

Every time I log onto WordPress I see their”freshly pressed” posts.  Someday I’d like to be there, but in the meantime I thought it would be fun to link to one of them – especially if it reflects on what I’m trying to do in my life!

http://tombasson.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/16-tips-to-simplify-your-life-and-increase-your-productivity/

Now I have to find out more about Evernote.  Would it be helpful?  If anyone uses this program, please let me know what you think!

“we were gentle among you, like a nurse

tenderly caring for her own children”

If you were to ask Emma what my parenting style was, gentleness and tenderness would probably  not be words she would use.  My style is more like “grin and bear it”  or “get over it” or “move on”. Based on her comment to yesterday’s post “Eat your oatmeal!” was probably high on the frequency list too!

I’m also not very tender or gentle with myself.  I beat myself up for various reasons – like why am I still working grocery after 5 years.  After all it was just supposed to be temporary.  Why has it taken me so foxtrottin’ long to show up at a gym that was just down the street?  On and on it goes.  I am so good at encouraging others and discouraging myself.

Here’s the link to this picture:

http://www.dailypainters.com/paintings/65719/Planting-Tenderness/Tilly-Strauss

I found it while googling for pictures of tenderness.  I need to remember that I am precious.  My mind is precious, my body is precious and my soul is precious… so precious in fact that God gave His Son to die for me.

I like the statement that we should be kind to everyone because we are all fighting battles of some sort.  Maybe it’s time for us to be kind to ourselves too!

(This blog was inspired by another blog I read ocassionally, although it comes into my inbox every day.  http://panoramicviews.wordpress.com/author/panoramicviews/

Here’s a question to ponder and I would appreciate your ideas too:  How do you practice tenderness in your own life? I’m thinking that there’s a spiritual and mental/emotional side to this.

Anyways, I am off to the showers.  I made myself run for 2 minutes on the treadmill this morning!

Have a wonderful day and I’m looking forward to the comments!

Marcia

Leave a comment

Filed under WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

Leave a Reply

