No More Cinnamon??!!?

I need to confess, here and now that I have loved cinnamon since I was but a child.  My mom would cook white rice with milk and raisins and we would add butter, brown sugar and cinnamon.  “Rijstebrie met Krenten” we called it.  I grew up Dutch!

My mouth is watering even as I type this, so here’s a recipe link:

http://dutchfood.about.com/od/desserts/r/Rijstebrij-Old-Fashioned-Dutch-Rice-Pudding.htm

And here’s a picture:

While still a child (although a bit older)  I developed a loathing for oatmeal porridge which my mom would also lovingly cook for breakfast.  I even re-named it “cows teeth and worms gravy”.  Surprisingly enough however, I’ve been eating porridge, year round for a long, long time now.  I just started adding the rijstebrij ingredients – raisins, brown sugar, cinnamon and a bit of butter.

Fast forward to last week.  My supply of cinnamon has run out.  It’s also not on my “recommended” food list.  (I try to follow the “Eat Right for your Blood Type” diet and I’m an O.  Cinnamon is on the “Avoid” list.

For a few weeks I ate my porridge without any spicing – just the sliced apple and the pinch of salt.  Boring.

I checked my “recommended” food list and found ginger and allspice to be not only acceptable, but available in my cupboard.  I mixed equal amounts of both spices and added about  1/8th of a teaspoon to my morning porridge.  It was delicious.  I haven’t tried it in my muffins  yet, but I’m sure it will be just fine!

Just a quick note – it does NOT taste at all like having cinnamon in your porridge.  The ginger adds a bit of a nip to the equation and I like it.  (Surprise! Surprise!)

On the weightloss side of things, I’m down another 2 pounds, (221.5) so I could achieve my goal next week!

Have a great day and feel free to try my new spice mix on your morning porridge!

Marcia

4 Comments

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

4 responses to “No More Cinnamon??!!?

  1. Ugh, I hate porridge. I grew up on it and detest it to this day. But good for you that you’re still eating it and now you’ve got a new spice mixture to enhance it. One question though, why is cinnamon a bad thing for type O blood?

    • Hedy

      I’m with you Diane. I love oatmeal – in cookies, muffins, cake, granola-type cereals, etc. NOT porridge! Just the thought of eating it makes me gag.

  2. If you detested it so much, why did you make me eat it? (I am her daughter for the record :-)… however, I too have started eating oatmeal almost every morning… and I am actually enjoying it… Is nutmeg on the “allow” list? it makes oatmeal taste delicious< and add maple syrup to sweeten it… nom nom nom

    • shortshoestring

      For the same reasons my mom made me! It’s Good for you! and it doesn’t break the budget. Plus it tasted so much better with cinnamon, raisins and brown sugar! Besides you got your Cheerios and Corn Pops too!

Leave a Reply

