“Overcome Fear to Reach Your Goal”

That’s the title of last weeks Napoleon Hill article.  It ends with the statement from God’s word, which I found kind of hard to find this morning, but here it is:

Fear not, for I am with you always!

The closest I came was Isaiah 41:13, where I am reminded that God wants to take hold of my right hand, while He encourages me to fear not, but trust Him.

To tell you the truth, I’m a big chicken in this respect.  Here’s one example.  I like going to church.  Because of my job I work two weekends and have the third one off.  If the scheduling is good, I can start at 11 am, and attend a service at the Presbyterian church.  The other Sundays I attend a church in my neighbourhood, Hope for Life.  Things get so disjointed this way.  I don’t connect with anyone and I’m not involved, except when I can manage to flit into the pew.

Here are the options, the way that I see it right now:

  • I could quit the job, lose the benefits, and trust God to provide work that would allow me at least Sunday’s off.
  • I could cut my hours by taking another position.  This might or might not affect my benefits, would make my work physically less demanding, but would help me pay my bills.  But working less hours would give me more flexible scheduling and perhaps I could attend church more consistently.
  • I could continue as I am and …

At this stage in the game I’m choosing the latter but pursuing choice number 2.  I’ve just had a cortisone shot in my elbow to relieve tendonitis.  It seems to have worked well, but I’d rather not do it again.  (It wasn’t painful but still it’s not the way I want to deal with pain in my life.  I would rather prevent it from happening again.)

Choice number one is possible, but … well that’s where the fear comes in.  My financial safety net consists of an almost zero balance on a credit card, a small emergency fund and my ability to teach ESL.  Ultimately the first option is the destination I would like to reach.

Writing this blog post has been helpful for me, as I thought it through.  Maybe the options are the milestones – moving me towards the destination.

In the meantime, I couldn’t find this book at the library, but I found one called Fearless by the same author.  I guess I’m not the only person who struggles with this, as two others have holds on it as well.  Fortunately there are 10 copies.  If it comes in time, I will be reading it on my vacation!

One little GREEN comment:  Because I have been able to put more than the minimum payments on my debts, those minimum monthly payments are now much smaller than they were a year ago.  And there are a lot less of them.  This diminishes the “fear factor” significantly!

On the RED SIDE of things, I achieved another mile marker, 223.5 pounds, which means I’ve lost 30 of them.  My next “pebblestone” is 4 pounds from now.  Can I do it before I head east? 

Have a wonderful day!

Marcia

 

Leave a comment

Filed under WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

Leave a Reply

