Baking Day!

Good morning!

It’s baking day today.  I am off and although I have an appointment this afternoon and some clothes shopping to do ( I need a dress for a wedding and I don’t want to look like “frump girl”).  I won’t be buying, just trying.

I’m very fortunate to have a grain mill, so I can buy $40 worth of organic kamut and bake for about a year!  Kamut is an ancient grain and you can find out more about it by clicking this link:  http://www.kamut.com/  I rarely eat wheat and this has become my grain of choice for baking.  You can buy it at most health food stores as grain, flakes (think porridge) and flour.

While I am writing this, my sponge is sitting on the counter rising.  I use a method from a wonderful book called  Bread Time Stories aby Susan Jane Cheney.  I’ve had my copy for many years and it shows it’s wear.  It has many great recipes  (and not just for bread) but it’s value to me has been in the entertaining introduction where she explains in great detail the science of bread making.  Sadly you can’t just buy this book anymore.  But you may get lucky at a used book store.  Used copies are also available at Amazon.

Anyways, the introductory recipe (which I use and mess with) calls for only 3/4 of a teaspoon of yeast.  To get the yeast going you add all the water and about half of the flour, stir it 100 times in the same direction and then cover and let sit in a cosy place while you write blog posts, wash dishes, drink coffee and get the laundry done!

I’ll probably get the kneading done before I leave, but I’ll leave it in the fridge to rise while I’m galivanting around town in the rain. I do hope it will stop by then.

When I get home I will resume my breadmaking activities, and make some of my fish soup.

I’ve also tried something new with this baking of bread.  I’ve added kelp powder to the mix.  It’s a recommended food for “Type O’s ” according to the Eat Right for your Blood Type way of thinking (which I happen to share).  We’ll see how it tastes tomorrow.  Here’s what I hope to be looking at before I go to sleep tonight!

I’ve had to borrow pictures today because of – well that’s another story entirely.  Suffice it to say that I cannot recharge my camera which means that I also can’t take pictures to post!

Have a great day and enjoy changing things up a little!

Marcia

PS:  I’m down to 226.5 lbs.   I think I might make my October goal.  Enjoyed reading The Help on the bike this morning!

2 Comments

Filed under GREEN: Money matters that matter., RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

2 responses to “Baking Day!

  1. A really good blog post today Marcia. I so enjoy reading your posts. And…I am very, very proud of your weight lose. It’s not an easy feat, so give yourself a huge pat on the back!
    Blessings,
    Diane

    • shortshoestring

      Thank you Diane! I’m glad you are on my encouragement team! Change is much easier when you have people walking and praying along side you!

Leave a Reply

