Pondering Time!

This is the book that I read most regularly.   It takes less than 5 minutes while I’m on the bike at the gym.  I know that there are more things in this little book that I could apply in my life – but I need to save some changes for next year.   I have done a few things differently.  I was and still am looking for people to share the house I am renting.  (We have one empty bedroom.) I was certain that I wasn’t going to share a home with a man.  But I do, and it has been much easier than I thought.  And more fun.   I’ve decided to share more of my thoughts as I read through this book, but yesterday’s post was based on last weeks essay.  This weeks essay is about failure.

 A second book that travels to the gym with me is this one.  My daughter Emma bought this for me for Christmas one year.  I read through the first chapter but got hung up with the exercises.  Does this happen to you when you are reading these kind of books?  What I’ve been doing lately is what I do with Napoleon Hill’s book.  I read the same chapter over and over for a week.  There’s no rush (unless of course it’s a library book with umpteen holds on it) and I have pondering time.  Books like this ask some hard questions.  Like “What’s unique about me?”  Tracey says I’m always smiling at work.  I’m also the only cashier that collects food jokes and tells them to customers – at least at my store!

At work, when I’m not visiting with my friends, I have this book on the go.  It too requires that I do more than just read it.  There are thoughts to be thought, and lists to be made.  This book I read quickly, but I’ve gone back over it, one chapter at a time, so that I can think things through.  http://maxinehyndman.com  Here’s a link to her website.  It hasn’t been added to lately, but you can still access her newsletters.  The book itself is helping me to focus on different aspects of personal finance and of my life in general.  Once again, I come to the idea of “focused effort” or “gazelle intensity” – something I find very difficult to sustain.

Because I’m reading a little differently now, it’s going to take me a while to finish a book.  But I hope that I will be able to share a little more about how they are impacting me on my journey to be healthy and whole!

What’s on your reading list? Feel free to share what you’re reading and what you’re learning!

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Marcia

1 Comment

Filed under Was that worth reading?, WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

One response to “Pondering Time!

  1. Mom, I love reading your blog, Its funny I dont remember getting you that book, but I am glad your reading it, and perhaps you could lend it to me when you are done.
    The Naked Millionaire is an awesome book and I am very glad you are enjoying the changed perspective! It changes the way you think about alot of things 🙂

Leave a Reply

