More about the Unexpected!

Yesterday I blogged about the unexpected whammy of my paycheque.  Someone forgot to log some holiday time.  As I said yesterday, it wasn’t a biggie, just a surprise that required that I do some tweeking.  Now I just have to decide whether to keep my holiday day or cash it in as it were.  I have a feeling, when all is said and done, that I’ll keep the day.

Yesterday, however, was loaded with surprises.  All of them good, and all of them encouraging!

I’ve chatted with a lady that shops at Co-op for a while now.  I saw her often and said hello in passing when I worked out at the Southland Leisure Center (about 5 years ago).  When I switched stores I saw her more often.  Every year that I canvassed for the Heart and Stroke Foundation she would donate.  Yesterday I discovered that she leads a walking clinic for those who want to walk a half marathon.  (Our TOPS group goal is to walk a half marathon next summer!)  Like how cool was that?  I also now, after all these years and all these conversations know her name.  What a delightful surprise!

Surprise number 2 came as I was biking home last night.  I pass the home of a friend of mine, Pam, and I always ring my bell – just to say “hello in passing”.  She’s never come out, but yesterday SHE DID!

Just a bit of background here.  Pam and I have known each other for a few years.  We both have the same struggles with weight.  And we always said “We should walk together”.  Guess what?  We never did – until last Monday (Labour Day).

Anyways, we sat and chatted.  (She was in the process of emailing me when I rang.)  Then we walked up the hill and I rode home and she walked home.  But tonight, instead of biking straight home, I’m going to stop at her house and we’ll walk some more!

We’re both excited about walking the half marathon in the summer.  We both have goals we want to achieve and when we want to achieve them by.  We’ve both found times where we we can walk together and be encouraged!

I hope that your day also has some pleasant surprises in it!  Have a great day and thank you for being my encouragement!

Marcia

 

1 Comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

One response to “More about the Unexpected!

  1. dlscott1973

    Great job and dedication Marcia! You are an encouragement to all…especially to me!

Leave a Reply

