Overcoming the Doldrums!

This is a picture of my mom and I, taken almost two years ago now.  I chose it for a few reasons :

  • It was a good day and a fun day, driving to Whitby (I think) by back roads and just enjoying the day together.  We were even fortunate enough to see a stray pink flamingo lurking in the bushes at the side of the road.
  • The road is long.  Right here it’s fairly straight sailing, but it wasn’t always to straight and so smooth.
  • The view was a surprise that we weren’t expecting, and we had several of them that day.

If you’ve been missing my “Monday Morning Updates”  it’s because I got tired of them.  I was certainly faithful about showing up at the gym and recording my distances.  I just wasn’t losing any weight.  Sometimes I’d even gain some.  This is not a fun place to be.

As it stands, today I weighed in at 227.75 pounds.  It means that instead of losing during the month of August, I’ve gained about a pound.  This does not make me happy.  However….

There are a lot of howevers, things I have accomplished this month.  I finished a course and a certificate after 2 years of study.  This was very stressful and time consuming.  I have a new line of work.  I can administer CPR and use an AED machine, although I hope I never have to!  Physio three times a week takes up extra time.   (I suppose this is starting to sound like a bad case of the “whinies” and I’m sorry)

So here is how I’m dealing with those doldrums today.

  1. I am enjoying music! An old cassette by John Michael Talbot.  It is very restful.
  2. I am eating properly – Fajita salad with lots of veggies and protein.
  3. I am getting things done – laundry, book sorting, cleaning…
  4. I am going to see the last installment of Harry Potter with my friend.
  5. I am remembering that I have stayed the course for the most part and that there will be blips in the road.

The reality is this – the winds will come again.  Doldrums are hard to handle.  I don’t seem to be going anywhere.  It’s just the “same old, same old”.  And yet, there are small changes that I forget to celebrate – like the fact that I went to the gym this morning.  I got up at 5:30.

Maybe I will notice that the wind is blowing tomorrow!

Have a wonderful day!

Marcia

1 Comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

One response to “Overcoming the Doldrums!

  1. Barbara

    Glad I happened on your page today, waiting for a
    Lexulous move!
    I remember that day to, with the other special ‘foto’s’ we took. The perspective was disappointing at the time.
    I was happy you did come to a concert with me.
    Did n’t we have a tailgate meal on a rooftop too?
    Back to work! Long weekend coming up with BBQ visit from Leon and other fam.
    Love you, Bye.
    mom

Leave a Reply

