New Habit: Day One!

Yesterday I wrote about the new habit I wanted to form.  Last night I put it into action.  A while back I wrote about the Marathon man who ran 250 marathons in a year.  I wrote about my own goal to lose 100 pounds.  And while I was looking on Google images for funky “100”‘s to put on the blog, I found a book called The 100 Thing Challenge which I promptly put on hold at the library.  I was reading it at work and entertaining my friend Tracy with his story of the dolls (page 51).  It truly is a fun book to read.

I was almost at the end last night but too sleepy to finish it.  This morning my internal alarm clock woke me at 5:15 am.  Lately I’ve been grabbing an extra half hour instead of making the leap to my book.  This morning I read the last few pages, got out of bed and put two more pillowcases in the give away box.  And I still made it to the gym by 6:10.  A vast improvement!  It also meant that I took time to stretch afterwards, which is very important.  It’s also something that I don’t always take time for.

    http://guynameddave.com/  So now you’ve got the cover of the book and his website.  He’s also on Twitter and Facebook, and there’s a separate website for the challenge itself,  that I haven’t visited yet, www.100ThingChallenge.com which gets you to that area of his blog.

I am in the middle of changing my life.  I’ve just completed my studies to teach English as a Second Language and I could go almost anywhere.  The thing that hinders me just a lot is my stuff.

I’m not sure how much luggage I can take with me, but…I think I will work my challenge from two sides.  First of all I will  “pack my suitcase” and decide what it is I really need to take with me.  After all, clothing can be bought elsewhere.  Calgary is not the only city with a Value Village!  And my clothing may not even be appropriate in my new environs.

Secondly I will continue letting go of stuff – as I wrote before.  Chapter 7 of the book is called “The Hardest  Thing to Cut”.  In it Dave discusses getting rid of his wood-working tools.  What he was really purging was a dream – an idea that wasn’t going to pan out, even though he really wanted it to.  I have a lot of stuff like that – things I want to do, but somehow aren’t going to happen just because I have the tools to make them happen – like my watercolour paper, paint, brushes and videos.  They’ve survived many purges, but I think they may be going to places where they can be used!

It will be fun to see what happens!

Have a great day and I will keep you posted!

Marcia

Leave a comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas, Was that worth reading?, WHITE: Thoughts, mostly of a spiritual nature

Leave a Reply

