It’w Weigh Day! – and a Recipe!

Good morning!  I hit the scale today, after another night of too little sleep.  I live on a main road, and they decided to do some repairs last night.  I did forego the ending of “The Deathly Hallows” which was getting a bit too scary for my liking (I will finish it in the light of day!).  But just as I was adjusting my head on the pillow all kinds of strange noises came out of the “silence”.  After that came the flashing lights.  But the spots they fixed look lovely and traffic has been moving nicely since I got up this morning.

I don’t look well when I’m tired.  I don’t feel so hot either.  I don’t weigh much less either.  I don’t know why that is – but I feel heavier too.

Anyways, I’m down half a pound from last week.  I’ve been to the gym every week day, which is the goal.  I’m also finished all my course work, so I can go back to focusing with “gazelle intensity” (the Dave Ramsey term I was looking for on Friday) on this matter of getting myself to a healthy weight.

I’ve created and am actually working from a menu-plan that I type up on the computer.  It’s pretty simple  but it has room for everything I need to have.  Of course it is printed on pink paper so that I can find it easily.

I’ve also “Messed with the Recipe” again, so I’ll share that with you!  The recipe was handed out at the Calgary Stampede this year, but you can find it here:

http://www.mbegg.mb.ca/salads_E_EggCouscousSalad.html

  Here’s a picture of it as well, to inspire  you.  Because I am trying (mostly ) to stay away from wheat, I don’t use couscous.  But grain is grain, and there are other small round grains that would work.  My choice was quinoa.  I made some other changes along the way as well.   So without further ado…

3 cups chicken or vegetable broth

1 cup raw quinoa or millet – if you are using the quinoa, rinse it well!)

4 eggs, hard boiled.  (I kept them out of the salad mixture because I want to add canned salmon instead and see how that tastes!)

1 can chick peas (19 oz ) drained or cook your own, and add 2 – 3 cups.

1 cup halved cherry tomatoes – I used the whole box because “The more veggies the merrier!”

3/4 cup diced sweet pepper.  I bought an orange one and I have no idea where it is.  When I do find it, and I hope sooner than later, I’ll add it in.

3/4 cup diced or grated carrot.

1/2 cup chopped green onion or sweet onion

1/3 cup finely chopped parsley

Salt and pepper to taste.

I used the broth to cook my quinoa.  It doesn’t take long – 10 minutes or so.  While it was cooking and cooling I chopped and mixed together the veggies.  Once everything was done I added the dressing – there is a recipe on the website, but I just added the herbs (1 tbsp. dried basil, 1 1/2 tsp. dried oregano, 1 1/2 tsp. onion powder, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder) to the quinoa.

To serve, I cut up half a romaine heart and add about 1 1/2 cups of the grain and vegatable mixture.  I top this with some light salad dressing and enjoy my meal.    And it is a meal in itself – very filling!

Having said all of that, it’s lunch time and pouring bucketsful of rain.  I guess I won’t be cutting the grass just yet!  Maybe I’ll have some of this salad for my lunch!

“See you lighter” as we say in TOPS, And thank you for being my encouragement!  Have a great day!

M

1 Comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

One response to “It’w Weigh Day! – and a Recipe!

  1. ABRA

    Thanks for the recipe. Will check out Quinoa! Hugs!

Leave a Reply

