It’s Payday!

It’s Friday.  I’m off work.  The sun is shining brightly and the morning chill reminds me that Autumn is not far behind.

It’s been a busy summer for me.  I came to the end of my CERTESL studies with the University of Saskatchewan!  There were thoughts to think and papers to write.  Of course, being me, I was still writing as the deadline loomed.  A slight improvement however – I finished at 10 pm. instead of midnight.  More about that later!

It is also the anniversary of my first year trying to put Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover into effect.

I  have to say, first of all, that I haven’t been focused on this with the focused “Life or Death” intensity that some people have.  I don’t seem to have that kind of intensity about anything – even my health. On the other hand, I don’t have my head in the sand.  I am not ignoring the situation – I’m just not as focused as perhaps I could be.

On the financial side of things I have made some headway.  I have eliminated two small debts totalling about $1400.   I am still paying $200 every pay check towards debt repayment  – and that means that I am paying more than the minimum required on the three debts I still have to pay off. But just think of the fun I could have if those dollars were mine to spend – that’s a lot of boot camps and stuff!

I have also managed to save the $1000 emergency fund.  I’m  not ignoring it, but feeding it $10 every paycheck.  Having an emergency fund is a wonderful thing!  If I needed to move suddenly, I have a damage deposit.  If I need to fly somewhere for work or family, I can do that.  Knowing that reduces some of the stress in my life! If you scroll back to a year ago, you can read how I started building it with extra money that came my way.  It is not an impossible task.  I have mine with ING bank, and it’s been a good experience. (Not to mention that they added $25 to my initial deposit!)  None of my friends have taken me up on the offer of my ING key, but that’s okay.  Maybe they will soon!

My next challenge is a credit card.  “Mr. Sears”  has been let out of his hiding place a few times – and the results are not great.  I now owe $800 on the card and I’m paying $100 every two weeks to lower my debt. Well, after today it’s $700 because I just got paid.  In theory I should have it paid off by the end of November.  My mini challenge then, is to pay it off before the 30th.  Now that I’ve written that, I’m going to figure out ways to make it happen!

I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, thanks for visiting my blog.  You encourage me to keep on moving towards my goal!

Marcia at 9431

PS:  I haven’t been posting about my weight so much.  (The chart suddenly seemed a bit persnickity!) but my weight at TOPS last night was 228! It was 229 at the gym on Monday.  I’ve set my goal to lose 2 pounds on the gym scale, so we’ll see how that goes.  Stay tuned!

 

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under GREEN: Money matters that matter., RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas, Uncategorized

3 responses to “It’s Payday!

  1. dlscott1973

    Thanks for sharing Marcia. I enjoy your musings very much!
    Blessings,
    Diane

  2. Alida Van Polanen

    I wonder, as your debt load gets lighter, do you get lighter?

    I don`t remember what I put in the Red envelope, so it will be a surprise for both of us:)

    Alida

  3. Barbara

    I like reading your blog too, Marcia.
    It inspires me to get a lighter look on things an shake off the ‘persnickityness’!
    Now I’ll try to find our game!
    G’morn.

Leave a Reply

