Could these Bananas make me fat?

Well, GOOD MORNING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Am I excited or what?  Yesterday was a busy day at Eau Claire Market, where I helped with the “Give a Little Knit” for L’Arche Calgary.  It was fun, fun, fun, and we had lots of people knitting, spinning, eating and just having a good time!

We had lots of fruit and while you can’t see them, those are some nice, organic slightly spotty bananas.  I resisted.  It was hard.  I just reached past and grabbed an apple or some strawberries instead!

The reaction to my giving up bananas has been interesting. Most are worried that I won’t get enough potassium in my diet.  You would think that bananas are the only source of potassium.   Almonds have a lot, artichokes, cantaloupe, dried beans, beets, spinach.  A baked potato has more potassium than a banana.  So do lima beans.  Here’s the link to the source of my information: http:/ /www.fatfreekitchen.com/nutrition/potassium.html

Having said all of that, here are the numbers for the week!  There’s been a major breakthrough here, and I am excited!

After 23weeks…

(to June 13)

Weight Loss

Number of Visits

Cost per visit

Miles

Traveled

This Week

 

4.5 pounds

6

Last week

$2.50

16.21

miles

Year to Date

 

26

pounds

132

This week

$2.38

354.24

miles

Week One of resisting those ripe, spotty bananas!

If you’ve been following my journey you’ll know that the last 6 weeks (post Hot Cross Bun overload) have been a struggle.  There was a bit of yo-yoing and the scale wasn’t moving the way that I wanted it to!  Today it was a totally different experience as I moved the weight down and down and down!

The point of all of this?  Sometimes something that is good for us, does other things to us that aren’t so good.  For me it seems to be bananas – especially the ripe, ripe ones!  I’ll buy a cantaloupe or two today!

Is there a good, healthy food in your life that you’ve had to give up?  What were the results of that?  Feel free to share in the comments page!

Have a great day!

Marcia


Leave a comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

Leave a Reply

