To Carb or not to Carb – that is the question…

This is still one of my favourite inspirational pictures.  Just getting up in the morning and going to the gym is like a step off the plane and into thin air.  I’m just used to it now.

I also found the spot in Why We Get Fat where it counsels avoiding the grapes and bananas.  It’s on page 156, where a low carb diet from the early 60’s is printed.  That was just for the record.

I’ve come to a conclusion after reading the book and looking at other websites and blogs that discuss this.

First of all, I’ve noticed that I consume more sugar than I think.  Bananas are good for me.  Enjoy.  Grapes are good for me.  Enjoy.  Yogurt is good for me.  Enjoy.  Cheese is good for me.  Enjoy.  If you ask my friends, I eat a pretty healthy diet.  No pop.  Very little white flour, rice or sugar.  I grind my own grain, bake my own muffins, and now again I’m baking my own bread.

But, if you’ve been following my numbers, you’ll notice that I’ve parked in the low 230’s for a month.  I had to investigate my eating.

I’ve decided to continue to carb.  I like my morning coffee with it’s half cup of frothed milk and teaspoon of sugar (I keep a measuring spoon in the sugar bowl). And of course it is in my lovely red cup.  I also like my porridge in the morning.  It’s a no brainer and I need that after an  hour at the gym!d

I also like my muffins and my bread.  I like making them.  I enjoy messing with the recipe.  And I enjoy eating them – in moderation.  I have to say as well, that with less sugar I am eating less of them, which is a good thing, I think.

It’s easy to get sucked in to someone’s logic and accept it.  I think I do that a lot with all kinds of things.  At the beginning of the book I was ready to jump in to the NO CARB camp, slowly but surely.  Now I think I’ll stay on the edge, tweaking as I go.

Whatever, I’m glad I read the book.  If skipping the bananas and the grapes will make a difference, it was worth it!

Have a great day!

Marcia

Leave a comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas, Was that worth reading?

Leave a Reply

