WHY WE GET FAT And what to do about it.

This book has been on my nightstand and on my treadmill at the gym since I brought it home from the library.    It was recommended by Flylady at the beginning of the “Body Clutter” challenge.  To be honest, I haven’t done much with the challenge other than follow it on Facebook.  However, I did get this book from the Calgary Public Library and I’ve read it.    And I liked it.  So much so that I was compelled to start making some changes.    For example:

  • I made my bread with a different recipe that calls for far less sugar than my other recipe.  Maybe I’ll post them both one day, but suffice it to say that it’s taking me much longer to get through the latest loaves.
  • I also made my muffins with less sugar.  They aren’t the greatest, although the dried cranberries (sweetened with apple juice) make a great taste exclamation mark!    Needless to say, I’m not going crazy eating them either.
  • I’m not quite ready to give up my fruit.  But I did read that bananas and grapes are the ones to forgo ( I just forgot to write down what page I read it on) so I’ve set them aside for a while.
  • The other day after work (I work in a grocery store) I was feeling peckish.  Instead of buying a chocolate bar, I bought a few slices of roast beef from the deli.  It worked and I made it home in one piece!

As I write this, I’m not quite finished the book, but the fact that I got this far, means it is quite readable.  I found myself drawn into the arguments for a low carb diet and considering the ways I could apply this to my own journey.  Then I started looking at what others have said about the book.  Here are some links that you might like to follow for more information:

http://www.sciencebasedmedicine.org/index.php/why-we-get-fat/

and http://www.weightymatters.ca/2011/01/book-review-gary-taubes-why-we-get-fat.html

At the end of the day, and the book, I don’t think I will be giving up the apples in my oatmeal, or the teaspoon of sugar in my morning latte.  What the book has succeeded in making me do is noticing the extra calories that I’ve been hiding in my food (since I bake my own bread and muffins these days)

I’ll put this out there for your consideration, and we’ll see how it goes over the next little while

Leave a comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas, Uncategorized, Was that worth reading?

Leave a Reply

