“I make a commitment…

to not beat myself up when I make a mistake.  I realize that I am not perfect and I never will be, and  that in order to establish a new habit my success lies in continual changes that do not happen overnight.”

This is the first commitment in Flylady’s “Body Clutter Release” contract and I need to be reminded of it this week.  Something is going on and even though I get to the gym every morning, ride my bike to work, and am on my feet all day…  the clutter is sticking around and coming back home to roost.   This does not make me so happy.

Further down the contract there’s #5 which reads “I commit to balance in all things.  I will not allow myself to become overwhelmed and then crash and burn.”

I haven’t crashed and burnt but I have been spending a lot more time at the gym working those machines.  It was creating stress and taking time away from other endeavors – like menu planning and “writing the bites”.

Today, instead of 20 minutes on each machine, I did 15.   I also took some time to stretch.  Tomorrow I will do my usual  weights and treadmill.  And after I share my “stats” for the week, I will figure out just how many calories I’m eating.  Perhaps I am not eating enough!  I’ll keep you posted!

After 18 weeks…

(to May 9)

Weight Loss

Number of Visits

Cost per visit

Miles

Traveled

This Week

gained  1.5

  pounds

5

Last week

$2.97

15.74

 miles

Year to Date

20

 pounds

111

This week

$2.84

289.03

miles

And…25.25 inches lost so far!

So, I’m off to finish a class assignment, plant some seeds, and enjoy the sunshine of a fine Calgary spring day!

Marcia

2 Comments

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

2 responses to ““I make a commitment…

  1. Alida Van Polanen

    Hi my dear Friend,

    Romans 8:1

    There is now no condemnation/shame/guilt for those who are in Christ Jesus.
    So yes, stop beating yourself up.
    Jesus does not remember our sin. It is removed as far as East is from the West.
    Every morning you are free to live right. Not beaten into that life because of shame, but because of Jesus’ love!

  2. shortshoestring

    I agree. But someone might take the gain and give up. My hope and prayer is that if someone is at that space and feeling discouraged, they will keep on doing the next right thing!
    Life is good!

Leave a Reply

