Bacon, Eggs and Asparagus?

One of the pluses of walking on the treadmill is that I get to read magazines!  I go to the library and take out a stack of them and read them while I walk.  Yesterday I saw a picture in the Good Housekeeping magazine and I wanted to make it.  Here’s a link to the recipe – which is a good thing, because it was torn out – how rude!  http://www.goodhousekeeping.com/recipefinder/bacon-eggs-over-asparagus-recipe

This is NOT a “cheap” recipe, but it is relatively easy and very nice for a change!  Here’s my take on the recipe – which I modified somewhat – since I only wanted to make enough for one serving – today.

This is Irish bacon.  I buy it at the deli in  Calgary Co-op, McLeod Trail.  Its a bit of both – bacon and back-bacon- and it is delicious.  I bought 6 slices – enough for 3 servings.  You can buy as many slices as you’d like!

The oven needs to be preheated to 475 degrees and then the bacon gets roasted (I used my 9×12 pan, but they recommend a jellyroll pan, which I don’t have) for about 8 or 9 minutes.  Watch it carefully towards the end, so it doesn’t burn.

When the bacon is done to your liking, remove it from the pan.  Cut the woody ends off the asparagus and place them in the pan so they’re all facing the same direction.  This makes the end product very attractive.   Roll them around gently so that they get nicely covered with the bacon grease.  You can sprinkle them with salt and pepper, but I didn’t.  Then pop the pan back in the oven and roast the asparagus for 8 – 10 minutes or until they are turning kind of golden.  And since a picture shows it better, here’s one!

Asparagus, ready to be roasted!

Now, here’s where I go at it a bit differently.  I divided the asparagus into thirds and focused on just one of them, but left the rest in the pan.

On the one pile, I carefully cracked two eggs (You don’t want to break the yolks, since it’s all in the presentation!) Very carefully put the pan back in the oven once again and roast until the white is set, but the yolk is still runny (about 5 -6 minutes)  I don’t like runny yolks, so I broiled mine a few minutes, watching carefully,  until the yolks were the way I like them

Two eggs on asparagus

Once the eggs were done and out of the oven, I put the unused asparagus in one of my many Tupperware Freezermates, together with four of the bacon slices and popped them in the fridge.

Tomorrow, for breakfast or supper, I will fry or poach an egg or two, reheat the asparagus and bacon, and have this again.  It won’t be quite the same, but it will be quite nice I suspect with a little smoked salt or parmesan cheese.  But I’m sure you will agree that it looks very nice on my little red plate!

Leave a comment

Filed under GREEN: Money matters that matter., Recipes, RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

Leave a Reply

