It’s Hard. Period.

You’d think that after 4 weeks or 5 weeks, the journey to the gym would get easier.  It isn’t.  I get up with time to spare.  But there are distractions – the book I’m reading.  I’ve read it several times, and enjoy it, but I know the story.  Still I stay in bed reading it.

Yesterday I got distracted by the snow – lots of it!  Shovelling took the place of my weight routine, and I was late arriving.  But, at least the side walk was clear!

This morning it was the unfinished slipper I was crocheting.  It just needed one more row to finish it!  So I did.  I wonder what the distraction will be tomorrow?

Having said all that, I did make it to the gym – five days last week, which is my new minimum.  Saturdays is too  unpredictable given my schedule and the gym hours.  Not that I won’t try to make it – but I’m not going to fight my schedule anymore!

 

Weight Loss

Number of Visits

Cost per visit

Miles

Traveled

This Week

 

2 pounds

5

Last week

$13.70

9.2 miles

Year to Date

 

10 pounds

28

This week

$11.25

64.08

miles

As you can see, I’ve managed to get past the distractions, at least in this area, for the moment.  In other areas of my life however,  it’s a different story.

Any ideas on how to get past them?

Have a wonderful day!

Marcia

2 Comments

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas

2 responses to “It’s Hard. Period.

  1. Ponnie

    I would have to say that if you are one who is easily distracted…then you have to take the bull by the horns and change your ways….LOL!! I know, so much easier said then done, but nonetheless it’s the truth. You have to set your time for the gym and focus on making it. I want to ask you a question….is it possible that your distractions are really dressed up procrastinations? I say that because often we confuse the two. ~Smile~ Bottom line, you gotta know who you are and then deal with making change and a rebelling flesh. ~Smile~

    • shortshoestring

      I wasn’t making these diversions before, just this week! But I did manage to get to the gym on time – and only printed off TWO slipper patterns!
      I think I need to focus on the main achievement – I did get there! and I did get on a machine and move this “reluctant” body!

Leave a Reply

