Week 1: Crunching the Numbers!

I was going to take a picture of myself at the gym this morning, but I forgot the camera.  I got a phone call from a friend and I got to the gym late ( I have a 6:30 a.m. appointment after all) and the camera never made it into the bag.

But, I did want to report my progress on the gym front.  I did show up everyday last week (except yesterday, but that’s fodder for another post), and worked out for about an hour each time.  On Monday, Wednesday and Friday I did the weight machines and about 30 minutes of the fat burn workout on the elliptical machines.  The other 3 days are spent on the machines – 20 – 30 minutes on the cardio setting and another 20 – 30 minutes on the fat burn setting.

My attendance goals are to show up everyday except Sunday.  I did that.  That makes the cost of the gym pass down to $52.50 per visit.  Showing up does pay!  And for me that in itself is a motivator!

I love that song ” I will walk 500 miles and I will walk 500 more…” so my distance goal for the machines is 500 miles.  I’ve done 10.8 so far.  I’m not including my walks to work in that number – but that could be the 500 more.  I just need to figure out how to measure that!  I think Google maps can  help!

Now comes the weight loss goal:  Being “extremely obese” according to the BMI chart in the BHG “My Weight Loss” magazine, my first goal is to get into the “obese” column.  At 253 lbs. on the gym scale last week, I was “off the chart” extreme.  Now I’m in the middle of extreme!  Progress – I lost 5 lbs.

Having chosen a gym that is close to home means that getting there isn’t a problem – even with the cold, windy weather that Calgary has been experiencing over the weekend.  The challenge is getting across the street in one piece!

This morning I  walked the few extra steps to the flashing lights.  On Friday I had noticed that cars don’t readily stop for pedestrians at street corners and the possibility of  causing an accident is high.  Just for the record – flashing crosswalk lights don’t seem to diminish that risk, as one driver hit his breaks and skidded around before I even hit the pavement!

A second challenge is boredom.  I’m not into the sports network (TV number one) or the morning breakfast show (the other TV).  I have to hang on to the sensors to get my heart-rate, so that keeps me from reading my book ( I have to save that for the last bit on the bike).  I think my next challenge is getting the MP3 player that I got for Christmas to actually work.

Well, I’ve enjoyed my coffee (in my funky red cup) and it’s time to get on with the rest of my day.  I do hope you enjoy sharing my journey!

Marcia

Leave a comment

Filed under RED: Losing weight, gaining fitness, strength and new cooking ideas, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

