Small Steps

“Whoever wants to reach a distant goal must take small steps” says Saul Bellows.  “Rome wasn’t built in a day” either. This is about the small steps I am taking to build a better me.

Lori called me the other day because she was concerned about my blood pressure readings.  I wasn’t worried for some reason, but she was.   So…I dutifully biked to work, and before starting took my blood pressure.  It was high, too high.  It was high all day.  This is not good.  Yesterday I did the same thing, taking my readings first thing in the morning, and after a while at work.  I did achieve a reading of 130, and I can’t remember the bottom number.

This morning I ‘m drinking some “Stress Relief” tea and missing the aroma of my morning coffee.  If my morning number isn’t through the roof, I think I may have to adjust the morning coffee routine just a tad.

I started this post on Thursday morning, but rather than deleting and starting over, I thought I’d just add more in italics.  Switching the coffee didn’t make much of a difference in the first reading anyways, so I’m back to enjoying it – there’s just something about the smell of coffee and the loveliness of the milk foam that makes mornings NICE!!!

Back to normal print and my Well-Being Contract:

I’m supposed to walk 30 – 60 minutes, three times a week, I did it last week, and have two more walks to get in before Tuesday the 5th.  One will be this afternoon. (Yesterday was great walking weather but I spent it raking leaves and washing windows!).

At my TOPS weigh-in on Thursday I lost another 2 pounds.  It’s coming off a little faster than planned, but what’s important is the loss, not how much.  We’ve been focusing on keeping a journal (Writing the bites) and that has been a help the last two weeks.  If you want to know more about TOPS check out www.tops.org.  It helps me to go there every week!

The other small step I need to take is to prepare my meals and snacks in advance.  Yesterday I made a great Shepherds Pie – easy to make, easy to freeze and easy to pack in a container for lunches.  Today I made a sweet potato squash soup which smells great!  Later on I’ll make some banana blueberry muffins to add to my snacks!

Here’s a question for you:  What small steps are you taking?  I believe we can learn from each other and sometimes someone else’s small step is just the one you need to take as well!

Have a wonderful day and thanks for reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Small Steps

  1. Linda J

    My small step – parking further away than I have to…for example one floor down from where the entry is to the Plus 15 or 2 rows over at the grocery store…Linda J

Leave a Reply

