“Best Banana Muffins Recipe”

Good morning!  I’ve just spent a chunk of time drinking coffee and scouring my Facebook messages for my favourite banana muffin recipe – which I never can find or remember.  So… why not add it to my blogland cookbook?  Which is what I’m going to do.  It is based on this recipe from… http://www.catcancook.com/awesome-banana-muffin-recipe and I borrowed (Without permission) the picture from her blog.  Of course, the recipes I use hardly ever stay the same, and I’ve made my changes, which I will share here, but Cat’s the source and you might enjoy reading her blog too!

Marcia’s Banana Muffins – inspired by Cat!

4 large bananas, mashed or …

1/4 cup sweet – sugar, brown sugar

1 egg, lightly beaten, or…

1/3 cup liquid fat.  Butter, margerine, canola or olive oil, they all work.

(In case you’re wondering what … is – it’s not what it is in Mama Mia – Instead of mashing and lightly beating, I just toss the above ingredients in my blender and liquify! After the muffins are in the oven, 400° I cut up the banana peels, add some water and make banana peel soup to feed to the worms in my garden!)

In the muffin mixing bowl I sift together:

1 1/2 cups spelt, kamut or wheat flour – I use the first or second.

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. of salt, since I don’t use butter or margerine.

I use the sifter because there is nothing worse than a chunk of baking soda to wreck a perfectly good muffin!

When you are ready to bake, preheat the oven to 375 or 400 degrees.  Prepare your muffin tins.  Add the banana mixture to the flour mixture and mix until just moist.  “Don’t overmix!”, as my grade 8 home ec. teacher used to say! Bake for about 20 minutes.  Take them out of the oven, and turn the oven off! (I sometimes forget this crucial step in the process!)

Let them cool off a bit, and then enjoy…with your coffee, on a break, for breakfast – they are great!

And now, I don’t have to scour old notes, messages or emails!  I just need to read my blog!

Have a great day everyone!

1 Comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

One response to ““Best Banana Muffins Recipe”

  1. Ponnie

    Marcia….so funny you should write this today. I made the most delicious banana pancakes this morning….and it made me wish for cooler temps so that I can make a batch of banana muffins. See, great minds think alike…LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

