Taking the “no-poo” challenge!

I was visiting Being Frugal http://beingfrugal.net/2010/01/06/101-ways-to-save-money/ where I read about alternatives to shampoo. My daughter thinks I’m crazy – but the idea of not having to make decisions in this area is nice.

The process is pretty easy. Mix some baking soda into water for the “shampoo” and some apple cider vinegar and water for the “conditioner”. The challenge was finding bottles to contain my mixes. Fortunately, Emma drinks pop, so I snagged two of her bottles.

My likes about this:
* It’s cheap, and the ingredients are multi-purpose.
** It rinses out easy. I’ve been known to forget to rinse out the conditioner, so this is a no-brainer for me!
*** A little bit goes a long way, and my hair is squeaky clean after the wash.

One thing I don’t like: When I made my mixes I used warm water. Today (wash 2) it was a wake-up to my head!!!

The recipe:
The Cleaner: 1 tablespoon baking soda, dissolved in 1 cup water.
The Conditioner: 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar in 1 cup water.

At Simplemom dot net, you can get more information on the “how to’s” of cleaning your hair, but it’s pretty straight forward!
Just remember, a little goes a long way if your hair is kind of shortish!

And the biggest bonus of all – NO PLASTIC!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

